Social Media After Death: How to Close A Facebook Account

Checklists and Guides

Posted on July 07, 2015 by Cindy Phan

With our digital assets growing with each new online account opened, many social media websites have created policies on how to close an account of the deceased.  Below you will find Facebooks’s policy on how closing or memorializing a Facebook account of a deceased loved one:

Memorializing a Facebook account:

Memorialized Facebook accounts are a place for friends and family to gather and share memories after a person has passed away. Memorializing an account also helps keep it secure by preventing anyone from logging into it.

Learn more about what happens to a memorialized Facebook account.

Facebook will memorialize the Facebook account of a deceased person when they receive a valid request to memorialize a Facebook account.

Please keep in mind that Facebook can't provide login information for someone else's account even under these circumstances. It's always against Facebook's policies to log into another person's account.

To report a profile to be memorialized, please contact us.

Removing a Facebook account:

Verified immediate family members may request the removal of a loved one’s account from Facebook.

A Facebook Legacy Contact:

Facebook had also introduced the option of a legacy contact for users wishing to issue the management of their account to a person of their choosing in the event of their death. Funerals360 has an article on creating a Facebook Legacy contact.

View Facebook - Closing Accounts of Deceased